Board of Trustees and Honorary Advisors

The Hakone Board of Trustees is an integral part of the Foundation. Trustees are appointed for two-year terms, with a maximum three consecutive terms.


Executive Board

Chairperson - Ann Waltonsmith, Ph.D. (profile)

Vice Mayor, City Council member - Emily Lo

Treasurer - Faramarz Yazdani, Ph.D.

Secretary - Yuki Hashimoto

Former Chair  - Connie Young Yu (profile)

Members of the full Hakone Board of Trustees
Beverly Harada

Reiko Iwanaga

Mary Lynne Bernald, City Council Member

Sandy Miller

Elaine Salter

Miki Shimabe

Hakone Honorary Advisors

Bradley Davis - President of West Valley College, Saratoga

William E. Glennon - Former Saratoga Mayor who spearheaded the purchase of Hakone
Floyd Kvamme - Venture Capitalist
Yoriko Kishimoto - Former Mayor of Palo Alto City; now on Board of Directors, Mid-Peninsula Open Space

Allen Miner - Group Chairman/CEO, SunBridge USA

Norman Mineta - Former Member of both U.S. House of Representative and U.S. Secretary of Transportation; now President/CEO, Mineta & Assoc. LLC

Richard Moe - Former President, National Trust for Historic Preservation

Morihito Nagai - Retired; major donor for building CEC

Supervisor Joe Simitian, County Board of Supervisors

Yoshihiro Uchida - Former Judo Head Coach, SJSU; businessperson
Henry Yamate - Retired businessperson
Consul General of Japan in San Francisco